Hot Pepper Hoagie Spread

Many years ago I received a recipe for a hot pepper hoagie spread.  I had a ton of hot peppers in the garden and didn’t know how to use them all up before they went bad.   A friend gave me this recipe, it had been handed down to a friend of hers by that woman’s father.

It truly is a simple recipe and between the pectin in the peppers and the vinegar it is easily canned.  I know the original purpose was to put it on an Italian hoagie but I love eating it with my eggs in the morning, it certainly wakes up the taste buds.

I have scaled this recipe up and down, depending on the number of peppers I have on any given week.  Saturday I had eight cups of peppers and it made nine 8oz jars of hoagie spread.  I have also slightly changed the recipe, I like more garlic in my spread than the recipe originally called for. I know several people who will be happy to read this post, so to those of you, and  you know who you are……it is canned, cooled, labeled and you can stop by and pick up a jar.

Hot Pepper Hoagie Spread

2 Cups Hot Peppers, Stem Removed, Cut in Half

4-5 Cloves of Garlic,  Peeled and Crushed Slightly

1 Large Onion, Large Dice

1 Cup Apple Cider Vinegar

Salt and Pepper to Taste

Place everything in a sauce pan, bring to a boil.  Once it has reached a boil, turn it down to a simmer and cook approximately 25 minutes.  The peppers, onions, and garlic should be soft.  Take the pot off the heat and process the vegetables in a food processor.

If you are going to can the spread, start heating your jars and lids once the peppers have come to a boil.  Fill hot jars with hot spread, leave 1/2 inch of head space.  Process in a water bath for 5 minutes.

If you don’t want to can the spread, let it cool completely and store in a plastic container with a tight-fitting lid.

One note of caution, keep your exhaust fan running the entire time you are making the spread or you will start choking!

You can use any type of hot pepper you like.  This time I only had jalapeno’s but I do like making it with a combination of green and red peppers because it makes a prettier spread.  Just be careful how many Habanero’s you use, this spread can get really, really hot!

This recipe is not only vegetarian but vegan as well for those of you who are vegans or like me, have friends who are not carnivores or omnivores.

 

Leave a Reply

