CSA, Week One

Yeah!! I picked up my first CSA of the season.  For those of you not familiar with the term, CSA stands for Consumer Supported Agriculture.  You pay a farmer in February and he provides you with farm fresh produce all summer long.

My particular CSA does not require participation from the shareholder, but they welcome any assistance you would like give, especially with the weeding! I love that over the last three years I have come to know the family that grows my produce and been asked to provide input on what they should plant, season to season.

I love that there is a facebook page for shareholders to share pictures, stories, and recipe ideas.  I have to tell you, the recipe ideas are my favorite, somewhere around mid August I just run out of creative ways to use greens and it is so nice to get inspiration from others.

Below is a picture of week one… it includes bok choy, salad greens, rainbow radishes, pea shoots (LOVE THEM!), broccoli raab, kale, and mint.

Produce from Week One of my CSA

Produce from Week One of my CSA

We will have the salad greens for dinner tonight, the kale will be turned into a filling for a chicken roullade tomorrow, and the mint into mint iced tea.  The pea shoots and radishes will make a wonderful lunch on Monday.  I am thinking I might make pulled pork with sauteed broccoli raab for dinner on Sunday, we shall see!

So excited that the summer growing season is finally here. I can’t wait to see what each week will bring.

One thought on “CSA, Week One

  1. Pingback: CSA, Week 15 | Pickled Sweet

Leave a Reply

