Flag Day

Yesterday was Flag Day and I decided in keeping with the theme of the day, I would make an all American Dinner!

American Flag

American Flag

I went to our local butcher and picked up some freshly ground beef and American cheese from their deli.  On to the grocery store for ciabiatta rolls and peanut oil.

I keep my burgers pretty simple, I usually add Montreal Steak Seasoning to the beef and form them into patties.  My husband is a basic burger guy, his idea of a fancy burger is swiss cheese and bacon.  I peeled and cut the potatoes into sticks and pulled out the deep fryer.  We don’t usually fry anything in this house but every once in a while, you just need homemade french fries!

French fries taking a dip in hot oil

French fries taking a dip in hot oil

To at least make an attempt to be healthy, I did use the salad greens and one of the heads of lettuce that I picked up from my CSA to make a salad.  My husband just took the greens and added them to his burger, hey, at least he ate them….

My attempt at adding a healthy element to dinner

My attempt at adding a healthy element to dinner

Since the buns were so big, my honey decided to have one and a half burgers per bun, in order to get the right ratio of meat to bread I guess.

Burger and Fries

Burger and Fries

The weather was spectacular yesterday so we had our meal outside on the deck.  All in all, it was a nice meal, eaten on a beautiful day with the one I love, can’t ask for a better ending to a day.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

