Yummy Pickles!

On Friday when I was picking up my CSA the farmer casually mentioned that they had a bumper crop of pickling cucumbers and asked if I would be interested in purchasing any additional cucumbers…….

20 Pounds of Cucumbers

20 Pounds of Cucumbers

Without even thinking about it, I told her I would take 20 pounds.  You should know that I had already purchased 24 pints of blueberries, a flat of strawberries, a half flat of black raspberries and 12 lbs of apricots.  I already had a weekend’s worth of canning waiting for me.  What in the world was I thinking?

Anyway, I canned all of the berries on Saturday, leaving me with the cucumbers and apricots for Sunday.  I ended up with 25 jars of dill pickles, yup, you heard me, 25 pint jars of dill pickles.  Darn good think I love pickles.  Of course not all of them will be eaten by me, I know a few people who are anticipating a jar or two making it into their hands within the week. I had enough cucumbers left to make sweet relish too, but that is another blog post.

Since this was a canning project I followed the ratio of vinegar and salt and processed them in a hot water bath for 15 minutes per batch.  They will be good for at least a year, which might be how long it takes me to get through all of the jars.  Wish me luck.

Cucumbers, cleaned, sliced and ready for canning

Cucumbers, cleaned, sliced and ready for canning

Pickles and apricot jam!

Pickles and apricot jam!

Leave a Reply

