Tip of the Day

Recently a friend of mine suggested that perhaps I could incorporate a weekly kitchen “tip” on my blog. So today, thanks to Cat of Restoring Life here is my first tip. Please take a minute to read her blog. She is restoring a center hall colonial home and the blog is all about the trials, triumphs, and tribulations of buying and restoring an older home.

Today while picking up my CSA one of the other participants was asking me how I use up all of the produce/herbs we pick up each week. I gave her a few suggestions for recipes and how I freeze what I can’t use in the week. She said it was too bad the herbs go bad so quickly, she never gets to use all of them in time and ends up throwing half of them away.

I said you don’t have to throw them away and suggested making pesto, drying the herbs, adding the leaves of the herbs to your salad, to your salad dressing, etc. I also mentioned that I treat my herbs like I do fresh flowers, I cut the bottom of the stems, place them in a vase, or in my case, a ball canning jar and fill the vessel with water. I change the water every other day, cutting the stems as needed and they will keep for a week. I leave mine on the window sill in my kitchen, but you can also put them in your refrigerator if you prefer.

Amazingly, she had never heard of this, one of the other participants and the farmer both told her that is what they do to keep their herbs fresh as well. I wash the herbs before putting them in water so they are always ready to use. I find I use more herbs if they are “recipe ready”.

So how do you extend the life of your fresh herbs?

Let me know if you like this idea and I will see what I can do about making it a weekly feature!

2 thoughts on “Tip of the Day

Leave a Reply

