CSA, Week Six

This week my CSA share included Rainbow Chard, Flowers, Red Leaf and Romaine Lettuce, Parsley, Cilantro, Basil, Scallions, Red Beets, Broccoli, Cabbage, Jalapeno’s, Cucumbers, Zucchini and Yellow Squash.

CSA, Week 6

CSA, Week 6

The hubby will be traveling again this week so when I came home I processed several of the items and froze them so they don’t go to waste.  I used the parsley and basil to make pesto and I braised all of the greens (chard and beet tops).

Then I roasted the red beets whole, let them cool, peeled them and put them in the fridge.  I will make a salad out of roasted red beets, lemon vinaigrette, goat cheese over greens for lunch on Monday.  My husband hates beets, he says they taste like dirt, weird, I know!

The zucchini and yellow squash will be grilled tonight and we will use the lettuces, some scallions and cucumbers in a salad to accompany dinner.

We have company coming for dinner so I am going to cut the jalapeno’s in half, stuff them with cream cheese, wrap them in bacon and grill them as an appetizer.

Sunday we will have pork chops with coleslaw, using up the head of cabbage, with roasted broccoli and mashed potatoes.

The rest of the cucumbers will be turned into a cucumber tomato salad for me to have with dinner tomorrow because my honey won’t eat cucumbers or tomatoes…..sigh…..

That about covers the produce for the week! What exciting things did you do with vegetables this week?

Leave a Reply

