Mixed Berry Jam and Pound Cake

Last weekend I made mixed berry jam using strawberries, blueberries and black raspberries.  I had about 2 1/2 cups of mixed berry puree left, so I froze it.  I also had about 1 cup of strawberry puree left from making no sugar added strawberry jam and I froze that as well.We are having company for dinner tonight so I decided to pull out the fruit puree and make an ice cream to go along with pound cake for dessert.

Mixed Berry Ice Cream

Mixed Berry Ice Cream

It turned out better than I hoped, it reminds me so much of my mother’s favorite ice cream, black raspberry, both in color and flavor.  It is supposed to be such a hot and muggy day today so I think the ice cream will be a refreshing change!  Plus our friends have kids so I am sure this will be a big hit with them.

To go along with the ice cream, I made a buttermilk pound cake.  I love pound cake, I am not a huge fan of cakes with icing so pound cake is perfect for me.  I found the recipe for this cake in a church cookbook and it is perfect every time.

Can I just say, I know I have a cookbook obsession but truly church or firehouse cookbooks are awesome.  You know these are recipes that everyday cooks make for their families, pick a few up, they are worth your time and investment.

Buttermilk Pound Cake - Ready for the Oven

Buttermilk Pound Cake – Ready for the Oven

Buttermilk Pound Cake, Cooling on the Counter

Buttermilk Pound Cake, Cooling on the Counter

Sigh…..I can’t wait for our friends to get here so we can eat dinner and then DESSERT!!! Happy weekend everyone!

3 thoughts on “Mixed Berry Jam and Pound Cake

  1. Pingback: Mini Marshmallow Freezie Trifle Cakes | Rambunctious Recipes

Leave a Reply

