Zucchini Fritters

We usually grill our zucchini but lately we have been eating so much zucchini and yellow squash that I decided to change things up a bit.   I have been seeing a lot of recipes online for zucchini fritters so I thought, why not!  I google a few recipes, they were all similar, so I figured I would wing it and just throw stuff in a bowl, then fry them.

Zucchini Fritter Batter

Zucchini Fritter Batter

I shredded the zucchini, tossed it with a little salt and let it sit for 10 minutes.   Then I wrung out as much liquid as possible, using a kitchen towel.  I put that in the bowl with a generous helping of shredded locatelli cheese, minced garlic, pepper, and one egg.  The batter was a little too loose so I added some dry bread crumbs to the mix.

Zucchini Fritters

Zucchini Fritters

I fried them in a little olive oil and we had them with grilled pork tenderloin, baked beans, and coleslaw.

They weren’t bad but they were a bit boring.  I think next time I am going to saute the garlic with some onion, add a pinch of salt, and top them with tomato sauce.  Live and learn!  It is always worth trying something new.

Have you tried anything new this week?

7 thoughts on “Zucchini Fritters

Leave a Reply

