Grilled Asparagus and Parmesan Cream Sauce

If you have been reading my blog for a while you know we tend to grill just about anything.   This week we grilled asparagus and steak for dinner with a side of pasta in a parmesan cream sauce.  I needed a quick meal, I had left work late, I didn’t have anything at home so I had to make a stop at the store and I was already hungry.  Doesn’t make for a good combination!

I usually make enough at dinner so the husband has leftovers for lunch the next day but he wasn’t going to be home the next day so I wanted something that would just be enough for that night.  The hot weather had finally broke bringing us lower temperatures and lower humidity, thank goodness.   I find I don’t like to eat a heavy protein like steak when it is disgustingly hot out.

I knew I wanted beef and a vegetable that could be grilled.   The starch was my only issue.  I didn’t have enough time for baked potatoes, roasted/grilled potatoes or even mashed potatoes, I was just too hungry.  While walking through Wegman’s I saw they have prepared sauces available.  I grabbed their parmesan cream sauce and it was really good.  Next time I might doctor it with a bit of garlic and a smidge more cheese but in a pinch it was perfect for a quick weeknight meal when you are out of time and out of inspiration! I usually prefer to make everything from scratch but some nights it is nice to take a short cut.

Grilled Asparagus

Grilled Asparagus

What short cuts do you take when you need to get dinner on the table in a hurry?

Leave a Reply

