Chicken and Peppers

I found a recipe years ago in the Rao’s cookbook for chicken, sausage and peppers that you bake in the oven.  It has chicken pieces, on the bone, italian sausage, cut into 1″ pieces, onions, garlic, peppers, potatoes tomatoes, olive oil, salt, pepper and oregano.  The whole thing is put into a pan and baked for an hour in the oven.  Simple, delicious one pot meal, that is a snap to make and your whole house will smell wonderful.

Saturday night, I wanted to use up the green peppers from my CSA and this dish came to mind.  I didn’t want to add sausage because we had just had it the night before and I was in the mood for some pasta so I improvised.

Chicken and Peppers, Ready for the Grill

Chicken and Peppers, Ready for the Grill

I used drum sticks and chicken breasts on the bone.  I cut the breasts in half because they were HUGE.  I drizzled them with olive oil, sprinkled them with dried oregano, salt and pepper.  Next I diced the vegetables, you want them to be fairly large because they will cook for an hour.  I diced onions, green peppers, and eggplant then minced up garlic.  I tossed the vegetables with olive oil, salt, pepper and oregano and put them on top of the chicken.

Next I added a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes to the top and hit is one last time with oregano.  I placed it on the grill, uncovered, over medium high heat. You want this to cook at about 425 degrees, stirring every 20 minutes.

When it came time to serve dinner, I boiled up a bit of pasta and heated up sauce as our side dish.  The flavors are amazing and it is such a comforting dinner, you really need to try it soon!

2 thoughts on “Chicken and Peppers

    • It is such a wonderful dish and only uses one pot. It is really nice to make in the dead of winter, the house smells great, the oven heats up the kitchen, the flavors remind me of summer….mmmmmm!

Leave a Reply

