Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

Friday night I picked up my CSA and we were told we were welcome to help ourselves to as many red raspberries as we wanted.  SCORE!  I picked a pint and immediately knew what I was going to use them for…..Raspberry Buttermilk Cake.

A few years ago I had some leftover buttermilk that needed to be used up so I googled buttermilk recipes and came across this recipe.  We loved it.  It was such an easy cake to make, it only made a small amount and was perfect with a cup of tea or coffee.  I don’t like really sweet desserts and this one is just slightly sweet.

The stars of the show!

The stars of the show!

Since I didn’t know that I was coming home to make cake, I hadn’t taken any butter out to soften but that didn’t stop me!

Within minutes, I had assembled the cake.  I actually made two since I had so many berries.  I dropped the other one off at a neighbor’s house, hopefully they were as happy with it as we were!

Oven Ready Cake

Oven Ready Cake

The recipe calls for dusting the berries with a little sugar before baking but I like to pull out the big guns and use sanding sugar, it just looks so pretty.

If you are looking for a simple, everyday cake, this one is perfect!

Finished Cake

Finished Cake

8 thoughts on “Raspberry Buttermilk Cake

Leave a Reply

