Sausage with Roasted Peppers, Potatoes and Onions

Dinner Friday night was a quick and easy one.  The university I work out is kind enough to give us off on Fridays in the summer.  This was our first Friday back and it is always hard to get back in the swing of a five-day work week so an easy and quick dinner was just what I needed.  I bought sweet italian sausage from my CSA farmer, they offer organic eggs, pork and chicken in addition to vegetables.  This is the third meat I have bought from them and I am so pleased with the quality.

I parboiled some of the potatoes I received so they would cook a little faster on the grill and be done at the same time as the peppers and onions.  Once the potatoes were slightly tender, I let them cool, then tossed them with the onions and peppers, coated them with olive oil and seasoned them with salt and pepper.

We put them on the grill for about 15 minutes before grilling the sausage.

Potatoes, Onions and Peppers - Ready for the Grill

Potatoes, Onions and Peppers – Ready for the Grill

I served it with a nice loaf of warm bread and we ate outside on our deck.  The temperatures have been cool for this time of year but it has been great for relaxing on the deck before dinner with a glass of wine or in the case of the husband a beer.  The fact that we cooked the dinner outside on the grill was an added bonus as far as I am concerned!

Sausage and Vegetables

Sausage and Vegetables

Dinners like this one are also so easy to clean up.  We put our dinner plates and the plate for the sausage in the grill, the pan with the veggies was tossed in the trash.  Perfect way to end a long work week.

What did you have for dinner on Friday night?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

