CSA, Week 12

WOW, three months of my CSA and I am just as happy with it now as I was when we started 12 weeks ago.

CSA, Week 12

CSA, Week 12

This week I brought home:

Rainbow Chard – we love greens but this week will be a busy one so this morning I braised them in chicken stock with garlic and put them in the freezer for use later

Green Peppers – I also have a bunch of green peppers from the Community Garden at work so I am thinking of making a batch of pepper jam with them and the jalapeno’s from this week

Jalapeno – pepper jam!

Carrots – last week I boiled the carrots, then candied them for the hubby, this week I will roast them.  I might even make Roasted Carrot Orzo Salad, we will have to see what the week brings!

Onions – these will get used in various dishes all week

Potatoes – I have been wanting to make crash hot potatoes and I think this might be the week to try them.  I will keep you posted on how they turn out.

Tomatoes – again, busy week so I kept one slicing tomato to make sandwiches, the cherry tomatoes will go into salads this week and the rest I roasted and put in the freezer

Zucchini, Squash, and Eggplant – I am going to roast all of these together for dinner one night this week, it makes a great side dish

Red Beets – I roasted these this morning, peeled them and freeze them for use next week when things are less hectic

Basil and Parsley – I like adding these to my salad greens, do any of you add herbs to your salads?

Aster Flowers – aren’t they beautiful!!

One thought on “CSA, Week 12

Leave a Reply

