Warm Potatoes with Basil Vinaigrette

I belong to a facebook page called Leite’s Culinaria.  I am not sure how many of you are fans of David Leite’s blog but I find him smart and funny.  I have tried many recipes from his site and I just love the way they turn out.  I feel like the two of us have similar taste in food and I look forward to each post.

One of the people who posts to the facebook page put up one of David Leite’s recipes Warm Potatoes with Basil Vinaigrette.  It looked so pretty and I had just picked up more potatoes from my CSA, along with more basil, so I thought, that is what we are having with dinner!

What a great decision, if I do say so myself, so thank you Beth for posting the recipe! It was delicious.  I scrubbed the potatoes, left them whole and boiled them in a pot.

While they were cooking, I made the vinaigrette in my small food processor.  I should tell you that I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, for two reasons, the recipe serves four, we are a family of two and I wasn’t in the mood for red wine vinegar.  No idea why, I was in the mood for white wine vinegar instead.  I used a fruity olive oil instead of canola, just because I had it on hand.

Basil Vinaigrette

Basil Vinaigrette

Once the dressing hit the hot potatoes, the whole house smelled amazing! I am always looking for new ways to make potatoes, which are a staple in our house, and this one certainly fit the bill, easy to make, wonderful to eat, and smelled fantastic.

Potatoes with Basil Vinaigrette

Potatoes with Basil Vinaigrette

This was even good leftover the next day cold.  I might consider using this dressing for a summer potato salad next time.

Have you tried any new potato recipes lately?

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Warm Potatoes with Basil Vinaigrette

Leave a Reply

