CSA, Week 13

Lucky week 13!  I was out-of-town this Friday so I asked a friend of mine, Patti Klein, if she would be interested in picking up my CSA, photographing the veggies and writing a post.  Thankfully she said yes!  Patti is an incredible photographer, she has helped me learn how to plate food to be photographed and inspired me to purchase my own camera.  Patti has taken family portraits for me and they are amazing.  You can find Patti on her smugmug site http://pattiklein.smugmug.com/ if you would like to view her photo’s or hire her. Now…..here is Patti’s photography and post

Hi, my name is Patti, Michele asked me to fill in this week.  All I had to do is pick up the CSA vegetables, photograph them and then post ideas on what I will do with them.  Great!  I had been wanting to try the CSA vegetables.

Let me first tell you I am not a kitchen goddess!  But I do however love to eat well prepared, fresh food! So we eat out…lol.   I decided to keep it simple with a veggie salad.  I love to use my camera for just about any kind of photography.  That I can do well and love a project like this one!  My photographs are usually better than my food creations 😉

Right away as I placed the veggies on the counter to photograph I noticed the imperfections and random sizes offered by nature that you don’t find in the grocery store. Even better for photography!  I don’t know why, but I felt like making a food wreath.  Potatoes take center stage because I eat them every day. Next to chocolate ice cream they are a staple I could not live with out.  The wreath shows this weeks delight, with exception of the onions, I forgot to add in.  I  have included a photo of my helper Rudy, the dog.  Usually always near by on the look out for scraps, treats and spills. Sorry, no bacon grease today Rudy!

Food Wreath

Food Wreath

Doing this project reminded me of a few photography tips to achieve a nice food photo, I can share here.

1. Good Light! To get a good food photo, you should try putting your subject right next to the window. Lots of natural light is usually best for food to look as yummy as it looks to your eye.  Lighting is the secret ingredient!  I have found that backlighting the subject works really well for food.  Also, If your serious about a good photo, try setting up a piece of white foam core on the shadow side of the subject. This will bounce window light back into your subject and decrease the dark shadow.

2. Background. Keep a clutter free background, focus in on the food.

3. Angle of view.  Experiment with zooming in on food parts or platters. The bird’s eye view is a great way to make an art piece out of your food!  Or try getting a little lower to the food at an angle that is just above eye level.

For this salad I chopped up a few carrots, yellow pepper, red tomato, three sweet yellow tomatoes, 1/2 red onion, a handful of basil and parsley, all from the CSA.  In addition I added a cucumber and 1 can of garbanzo beans.  The dressing consisted of 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil, one minced garlic clove, 1 TBS balsamic vinegar, 1/2 of a lemon, squeezed, and salt and pepper to taste.  You could add what ever vegetables sound good to you or are around and ready to be used up.   The carrots and yellow tomatoes were particularly sweet.  What a treat!

 

Chopped Veggies

Chopped Veggies

 

Chopped Salad

Chopped Salad

 

Can I please have something??

Can I please have something??

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “CSA, Week 13

  1. Pingback: Dinner with Friends | Pickled Sweet

Leave a Reply

