Steak Dinner

We arrived home from vacation Saturday afternoon, we unloaded the car, the husband mowed the lawn while I went to the grocery store.  After that he and his nephew headed to his fantasy football draft, while I headed to the neighbors for their daughter’s 8th birthday.

Our nephew spent the night so we enjoyed a lazy Sunday morning with a full breakfast of Apple Sausage, Bacon, Scrambled Eggs, Oven Roasted Potatoes, cantaloupe, and Toast.

After breakfast, I sat down and planned our menu for the week.  I had picked up a few things from the butcher on Saturday afternoon before the birthday party but I hadn’t really made a plan.  Do any of you do that, plan your meals for the week?

For dinner on Sunday night we had steamed green beans, grilled corn, both from the farm stand, and bone in New York Strip steaks.  I made a blue cheese sauce for my steak.  My honey does not like blue cheese in any way, shape or form, but I love it!

I started with a small saucepan and reduced a half cup of heavy cream by half then added in a giant handful of blue cheese crumbles.  Turn the sauce down to simmer and serve it along side your steak.  You will thank me! I figured I could still consider this a vacation meal since we haven’t truly gone back to work yet.  That’s my story and I am sticking to it!

Blue Cheese Sauce

Blue Cheese Sauce

Steaks Ready for the Grill Steak and Corn on the Grill

It is good to be home, sleep in our own bed, and GRILL again!

Leave a Reply

