Mehndi Ceremony

Thursday was a busy day at work, we had a Board of Trustee Meeting and a Beam Signing Party for Faculty, Staff and Staff.  As much fun as it was to sign the beam that will be placed in the new building on campus, I think the ice cream in food grade construction hats was the bigger highlight for most of campus!

Signing the beam in fake construction hats!

Signing the beam in fake construction hats!

Anyway, it was a hot, humid, ugly day outside and I looked like a hot mess.  Sweaty, windblown, and sunburned.  I almost didn’t go to my friend’s daughters Mehndi Ceremony but I am so glad I changed my mind and went.  I had a fantastic time.  Everyone was so nice, it was such a wonderful celebration and the food was amazing!

Here is the jam I made for the party

Here is the jam I made for the party

They started the night by having one of their marriage ceremonies outside under a tree.  The other ceremonies took place on Saturday.

Wedding number one! You may now kiss the bride

Wedding number one! You may now kiss the bride

After that we all took turns ordering from the food trucks in the parking lot.  What a great idea.  It was fun and the food was delicious! My friend made all of the appetizers and desserts, only the entrée’s were provided by the trucks.  She did an amazing job and I for one am humbled by how much she has done for her daughter.

The bride ordering her dinner

All of that was fun but what I was really waiting for was the actually henna tattooing. The women who came were so fast and made it look extremely easy but my goodness there is no way I would ever be that talented.

Henna

Henna

I didn’t realize it takes almost two hours for the henna to dry.  After it is dry it will start to flake off leaving you with the design on your hands (or feet!).  How awesome is that!

Halfway done with the one of the bride's hands

Halfway done with the one of the bride’s hands

I was amazed at how elaborate the designs were.  When all was said and done, both of the bride’s hands were done and one of her feet.

Mehndi and Beam Signing 318

We have a dance troupe at our University that specializes in Indian dancing.  They were kind enough to come out and put on a dance presentation for us.

The groom's father asking the dancers if he may join them on the dance floor

The groom’s father asking the dancers if he may join them on the dance floor

After the performance, the guests took to the floor and had a fantastic time.  There was several traditional Indian dances and the groom’s family generously taught anyone who wanted to learn.  What a night, everyone was so warm, generous, friendly, and I was so blessed to be a part of this wonderful night!

Mehndi and Beam Signing 317

Leave a Reply

