Planning Ahead for Dinner

I know I have talked about it before but I tend to plan out everything….I am just crazy like that.  Work is about to get ugly busy and I will be working a ridiculous amount of hours so when I got the opportunity to come home a little early on Friday afternoon, I knew exactly what I was going to do with that time.  Plan, prep and freeze meals for us to eat on nights when I was going to be too tired to even think, let alone cook.

I stopped at the store for canned tomatoes on my way home.

Canned Tomatoes

Canned Tomatoes

I figured I would make a HUGE batch of sauce, turn some of it into meat sauce and freeze the rest with meatballs.

Tomato Sauce, Cooking on the Stove

Tomato Sauce, Cooking on the Stove

Next I hit the butcher shop for meatloaf mix and fresh sausage.  I took half the meatloaf mix and browned it with the loose sausage.  I added that to one of my pots of sauce and once it was cooled I bagged it and froze it for lasagna or spaghetti.

The other half of the meatloaf mix became meatballs, which I browned in the oven.

Meatballs, Ready for Baking!

Meatballs, Ready for Baking!

Once they were cool, I bagged them and added sauce.  Everything is laying flat in my freezer right now, ready to be pulled out and turned into a quick weeknight dinner.

Do any of you plan ahead for meals?  I know my niece does, there is something so nice about knowing you have an easy end to your day that helps you get through those crazy times at work.

Leave a Reply

