Potato Soup

Well fall has arrived, so soup making is in order!  My Great Aunt H has been under the weather and when I called her she mentioned how she was so disappointed by the potato soup she had eaten earlier in the week.  Man – that was all it took, now I was craving potato soup!  Fast forward to Friday afternoon, I pick up my CSA and look – POTATOES!

I had everything else I needed on hand except for leeks so I made a quick detour to the grocery store on the way home from the farm.

Sweating the Veggies

Sweating the Veggies

How is it that something so simple to make is so soul satisfying?  Thank goodness the hubby and I both LOVE soup!

I started with diced carrots, onion, celery and leeks.  I sautéed them in a bit of olive oil and seasoned them with, thyme, salt and pepper.  Once they  had begun to soften, I added one quart of chicken stock, brought it up to a boil, then turned it down to a simmer.   I let the vegetables simmer until tender, about 45 minutes, then I added the potatoes.  I put a lid on the soup and cooked it for another 25 minutes to cook the potatoes.  I lifted the lid, added the chopped parsley, diced ham, and one cup of heavy cream.

Soup, Before Adding the Cream

Soup, Before Adding the Cream

I let the ham and cream heat through, probably another 5 minutes then turned it off and let it cool.

I only had to work in the morning on Saturday so after I got home, I brought some soup to Great Aunt H.  She gave me a few more family recipes and two new scarves that she made.  We visited for a while and as I was leaving, she put some soup in the microwave to heat it for dinner. Hopefully she was happy with it!

This can certainly be made into a vegetarian soup – swap out the chicken stock for vegetable stock and omit the ham.

Do you have a favorite soup?

 

 

One thought on “Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

