Tomato Salad

Tomato Salad

Tomato Salad

I love tomato salad, I am mourning the loss of great flavored tomatoes already.  I just hate out of season tomatoes, they have no taste!

Anyway, on Saturday night the hubby was at the Penn State game so I was on my own for dinner.  He HATES tomatoes and I truly wasn’t very hungry so I threw together a quick tomato salad and added a bit of garlic bread and called it dinner.

This is so simple to make and tastes fantastic!  Chopped tomatoes, a bit of garlic, a chiffonade of basil, salt, pepper and a splash of red wine vinegar.  Couldn’t be easier to make!

It has absolutely no fat in the recipe, you only use a splash of vinegar, it is truly a healthy dish.  Of course, I am sure I added enough fat and calories by pairing it with garlic bread but such is life!

Should you have any left over, it makes a great, quick fresh sauce for pasta.  I usually saute a bit of onion in olive oil until it is soft.  While this is cooking I boil my pasta.  I add a ladle of pasta water into the onions, pour in the leftover salad, toss in the pasta and serve it with a bit of grated parmesan cheese.

What do you make when you need a simple supper for one?

Leave a Reply

