Pasta Fagioli Soup

We love soup in our house, thank goodness!  Now that fall has arrived, I am back to making soup at least once a week.   I came home from work on Sunday afternoon, tired after working seven straight days and to unwind from the stress, I put on a big pot of soup.  I know, most people would have put on their comfy clothes and collapsed on the couch….call me crazy.

Veggies for Soup

Veggies for Soup

I don’t faithfully follow any soup recipe but this is loosely based on the Zuppa Di Fagioli recipe found in the Daily Soup Cookbook.

I know most recipes call for white/green vegetables only but I love the addition of  carrot to this dish.  It gives it a slight sweetness and brings more color to the overall dish.

Pasta Fagioli

4 Leeks, Sliced and Cleaned

4 Carrots, Peeled and Diced

1 Onion, Peeled and Diced

2 Stalks of Celery, Diced

1 Fennel Bulb, Cored and Diced

3 Garlic Cloves, Minced

28 Oz Can of Diced Tomatoes

8 Cups Chicken Stock

3 Sprigs of Fresh Thyme

2 Whole Bay Leaves

Salt and Pepper to Taste

Parmesan Rind

1 Can of Kidney Beans

1 Bunch of Greens

I sautéed the onion, leeks, fennel, carrots, and celery in a bit of olive oil.  I seasoned them with salt and pepper.  After 5 minutes, I added the garlic, thyme, and bay leaves.  I let this cook for an additional minute.   I added the tomatoes, parmesan rind and stock.  Bring it to a boil, turn it down to a simmer and cook for approximately 1 hour.  Remove the bay leaves, thyme stems and parmesan rind.  Add the cleaned and sliced greens and the canned beans, cook for 30 minutes.

In a separate pot, cook half a pound of small pasta. I used ditalini  because I had it on hand, but any small shape pasta will work.

To serve:  put some pasta in your bowl, ladle the soup over the pasta, shred some parmesan cheese over the top and enjoy!

Pasta Fagioli Soup

Soup is one of those dishes that can accommodate whatever you have in the fridge or pantry.  I used canned beans for this recipe because I had them in the closet but you can certainly add dried beans when you add the stock.  My greens were the kale that I got in my CSA this week, I used carrots from my CSA because they were in my fridge.  I used a 14 oz can of tomatoes and fresh tomatoes instead of a 28 oz can because that is what I had in the house.  Soup is flexible, which makes it one of the easiest things to make but is also a great vehicle for using up the little bits of meat and vegetables from the fridge.

This recipe is also great made with a vegetable stock instead of chicken if you are a vegetarian.  I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

2 thoughts on “Pasta Fagioli Soup

Leave a Reply

