Fall Has Arrived…..

Much to my dismay, fall has arrived in Pennsylvania.   I love to see the leaves changing and there is something magical about the light in autumn but I hate to see summer go.  The days are getting shorter, it is now dark for my entire commute to work and I don’t have as much time to sit on the deck after work, the sun sets entirely too early for me.

In an effort to be positive about the change, I have been taking photo’s of the leaves, mums, pumpkins, etc.  This is what I love about fall….well that and soup….but that is another post!

The tree line in the back of our property

The tree line in the back of our property

 

Rain on the maple leaves

Rain on the maple leaves

Pumpkins and Mums on the Front Porch

Pumpkins and Mums on the Front Porch

 

Are you a fan of fall?  What is your favorite thing about fall?  I know for a lot of my friends it is Halloween.  The best part of fall to me is sleeping with the windows open, sitting outside next to a roaring fire, watching the leaves turn into vibrant shades of red, yellow and orange, Thanksgiving dinner, and flannel sheets!

I will say the cooler weather has me craving heartier meals – Whole Roast Chicken Dinners on Sundays, Beef Barley Soup with Mushrooms, Lasagna…. I just love the way our house smells after a day of cooking, nothing is more soul satisfying than sitting down to a home cooked meal that has been making your mouth water all day.

So go out and enjoy the fall weather, rake your leaves into piles and watch in awe as the angle of the light softly frames the bounty of nature.  Welcome Autumn in all your splendor!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Fall Has Arrived…..

  1. Well, Fall in Tucson is not pretty leaves, however: we can pick prickly pear fruits (called tunas) and olives from the tree for processing. I guess all areas have their own Fall traditions!

Leave a Reply

