Pepper Steak

The husband worked from home all last week, it was such a nice change.  Thursday night I had a boatload of peppers in the fridge and I knew we needed to use them up.  I originally thought I would make fajita’s but when the time came, I just wasn’t in the mood.

A few years ago a friend shared her pepper steak recipe with me, it is so NOT authentic, really an American dish that is Asian inspired.  It is so delicious and truly easy to make.

I prepped the onions and peppers the night before and made the marinade.  That meant I only needed to cut the steak when I came home, cook the pepper steak and start some rice.  Dinner was on the table in 30 minutes.  I like a lot of sauce so I can pour it over my rice, I am going to give you the recipe as written, but know that I triple the sauce and garlic….

 

beef with Peppers and Onions

Clara’s Pepper Steak Recipe

Marinade:

1/4 Cup Soy Sauce (I use low sodium)

1 T Water

1 tsp. Sherry

1 1/2 tsp Cornstarch

1 Garlic Clove, Minced

Whisk to combine

Pepper Steak:

1 lb. Flank Steak or London Broil (I use London Broil), Thinly Sliced

3 T Oil

3 1/2 Cup Peppers, Sliced

1 Medium Onion, Sliced

1/2 tsp Salt (I omit this because I think the Soy Sauce has enough salt)

1/2 tsp Pepper

2 Large Tomatoes, Cut in Wedges (I use a can of diced tomatoes)

Toss steak in marinade, let it sit for 20 minutes.  In the mean time, add oil to the skillet and saute the onions and peppers.  Cook until tender.  Remove onions and peppers, add more oil, if needed, add beef (with marinade), salt and pepper.  Cook until meat is no longer pink.  Add back the onions and peppers, stir in the tomatoes.  Cook approximately 10 minutes and serve over rice.

Easy, quick, and tasty – it is the perfect weeknight meal, especially if you prep the vegetables and marinade ahead!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

