Soup and Grilled Cheese

Today I had a lot of vegetables from the CSA and I decided soup was in order!  It is a chilly 52 degrees today, but at least the sun is shining.  I went with a winter version of minestrone soup and ended up with a huge batch.  I just can’t seem to make a small batch of soup….sigh….

Anyway, she doesn’t know it yet but my friend Cat  of the blog Restoring Life is getting a rather large container of soup delivered to her desk tomorrow, surprise!

Minestrone is basically vegetable soup with an italian twist.  I didn’t follow a recipe, I just chopped and dropped, then added chicken stock and let it simmer.

Minestrone Soup

4 Onions, Diced

5 Carrots, Diced

4 Stalks Celery, Diced

Bunch of Greens (I used Kale and Broccoli Raab), Chopped

4 Cloves Garlic, Minced

28oz. Can of Diced Tomatoes

32oz. Chicken or Vegetable Broth

Fresh Thyme

2 Bay Leaves

Parmesan Rind

28oz Can of Beans (I used red kidney)

1 lb Small Cut Pasta (I used Ditalini)

I sweated the onions, carrots, and celery in a small bit of olive oil until soft.  I added the garlic and chopped greens and let them cook for one minute.  I added the can of tomatoes, with the juice and the broth.  Bring it up to a boil, turn it down to a simmer and add the parmesan rind.  Simmer for 1 hour.

After an hour, add the drained, rinsed beans and heat through.  Cook pasta in a separate pot, according to package directions.  I don’t like to cook my pasta in my soup, it tends to soak up all of the broth, so I keep it in a separate container.  To serve, put some pasta in the bottom of your bowl, top with soup and serve with a dollop of pesto and freshly grated parmesan cheese.

lunch!

I added a grilled cheese sandwich and it was a delicious lunch on a windy fall day!

P.S. – for my Mom when she reads this blog….don’t forget we changed our clocks today.  I know you don’t get the pleasure in Arizona so I thought I would remind you!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Soup and Grilled Cheese

Leave a Reply

