Thanksgiving Menu Planning

So how early is too early to plan your Thanksgiving menu?  I have been thinking about it for a week, I starting writing down ideas for it on Saturday afternoon.

Do you serve the same things each year or mix it up?  I know we will always have turkey on the menu, and mashed potatoes, but other than that my menu tends to vary.

Some ideas for this year….

Apple Fennel Stuffing

Hard Cider Gravy

Brussel Sprouts with Bacon

Roasted Broccoli

Green Beans

Asparagus

I haven’t even begun to think about the appetizers but dessert is already decided.  I found a recipe years ago for a goat cheese pumpkin cheesecake.  The hubby and I are not big fans of pumpkin pie, one slice and I am good for a year, but cheesecake….BRING IT ON!

The ladies I work with have menu’s that are heavy on the starch – it is nothing to them to have candied sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, potato salad, macaroni and cheese, stuffing, and macaroni salad.

What are your have to have menu items, what interesting things are you thinking of trying this year?  I am totally looking for ideas!

5 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Menu Planning

    • I LOVE savory cheesecakes, I make a crab and mushroom one that is to die for! Thanks for sharing. I have a recipe for a carrot souffle that I haven’t made in years, thank you for reminding me.

  1. I loved making cranberry sauce last year so I’m definitely going to do it again (because half the fun is the bubbling/popping). And it’s not Thanksgiving in my house without homemade apple pie 🙂

    • I love making cranberry sauce and in the past I have canned it and given it away as gifts. I like to keep it simple if I am just making enough for us, cranberries, orange zest and juice and splash of either bourbon or whiskey. What do you use in yours?

      • I actually made mine last year with 3:1 ration of cranberries:blueberries and all of the above aside from bourbon or whiskey – never thought of that! How hard is it to can? I need a lesson! 🙂

Leave a Reply

