Lasagna

My husband has been begging for lasagna since the weather turned cold.   A few weeks ago, I had the fore sight to make and freeze homemade meat sauce so it really wasn’t too difficult to say yes!

A few years ago I was watching Ina Garten and she doesn’t boil her noodles, she softens them in very hot water.  I tried it and it totally works!

softening noodles

For my meat sauce, I use 1 1/2 lbs. of meatloaf mix (50% ground beef, 25% ground pork and 25% ground veal) and 1/2 lb of mild italian sausage.  I start browning the meat, I add onions, garlic and a bit of tomato paste.  I let that cool while I make the sauce.

For the sauce I saute onions, add tomato paste, let that cook for a minute or two, add the garlic, cook another minute then add cans of whole tomatoes, hand crushed. I bring to a boil, turn it down to a simmer and add two bay leaves.  I let this cook for several hours, remove the bay leaves, add fresh basil leaves and puree.

Once the sauce is done, I add the meat and freeze it in bags.  I usually put 8 cups in each bag, which I think is perfect for lasagna because my husband likes a lot of sauce.

I start by putting down a layer of sauce, topping it with noodles, then ricotta.  top that with mozzarella cheese and more sauce.  Layer as high as you pan will allow.

I make my lasagna the night before.  I pulled it from the fridge at 4pm and let it come to room temperature.  At 5pm, I put it on a cookie sheet, put it in a cold oven and turned the oven to 375.  I cover it with foil for the first hour to make sure the center gets hot, then I take off the foil and add a layer of mozzarella cheese.  Dinner is done!

finished lasagna

So what warm and yummy dinner did you have last night?

 

 

One thought on “Lasagna

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Pasticcio | Beerfoodie

Leave a Reply

