Holiday Thank You Dinner

At the college where I work we have a lovely tradition of making food for our students.  One they are hungry college students and two, they miss homemade food.

Wednesday night my division hosted the Phon-a-Thon students Holiday Dinner.  We each made (or bought!) something and had dinner with the students.  They look forward to it each year and so do we.  The manager of Phon-a-Thon hands out awards, there is a secret Santa exchange and then we EAT!

I made chocolate chip cookie dough truffles last year and now I can’t not make them for an event.  They are so easy to make and everyone loves them.  It is a recipe I found a few years back when looking for a dessert to take to my dear friend Amy’s house.  She is allergic to eggs and nuts so she generally avoids desserts.  I find that to be a crime so I have made it my mission to find things she can eat.

The most difficult part of this recipe is the waiting,  you make the dough, chill it for an hour.  Roll them into balls, freeze them for 30 minutes.  Dip them in chocolate, chill them until firm.  Each step only takes minutes.

I found the recipe on The Pioneer Woman site Tasty Kitchen and you really need to make them soon.  The dough is eggless but you should still keep them in the fridge until serving time because it does contain milk.

Choc Chip Truffles

Here is my tray, some are dipped in chocolate and some are still naked.

I like recipes like this because you truly need to make them ahead, freeing you up to enjoy your guests instead of spending all of your time in the kitchen.

A huge thank you to our student workers – they are among the best and brightest at our University – we couldn’t do it without all of you!! Keeping my fingers crossed that all of you pass your finals next week with flying colors! Happy studying….

4 thoughts on “Holiday Thank You Dinner

Leave a Reply

