Snow Day

Our local forecasters totally missed the boat today, they predicted a snow storm with a dusting to an inch of snow……..at 11am today the snow started and it snowed 2″ an hour for the next three hours.  By the time I left work, I had to clear 8″ of snow off my car.

Penn Dot and the City of Philadelphia both took their cue’s from the weather man and were totally unprepared for the weather.  The streets were sheets of ice. Normally when I work a weekend event I can make it home in about an hour. Today was a three-hour commute home on ugly streets.

The day wasn’t a total loss, we hosted an Admissions Open House today and had about 170 prospective students and their families.  They took the weather in stride and we ended up having a really fun, productive day.

I just wanted to say thank you – to the Admissions staff for their great attitudes, the prospective students for coming out, our facilities staff for doing their best to keep the snow off the sidewalks for our campus tours.  But most of all I would like to thank our current students.  Finals begin tomorrow and I know all of you are stressed to the gills.  Thank you for your understanding about us taking over one of your favorite study spots, thank you for your graciousness to our guests, and a huge thank you to those students who worked for us today giving tours.  I know how much time you sacrified by working instead of studying and I for one am grateful!

Hopefully leaving you with all of the leftover food made your study sessions a little easier to bear!

We didn’t have near as much snow in my neighborhood but I thought I would leave you with a picture of what greeted me when I finally made it home today.

first snowfall Dec 2013 014

 

 

2 thoughts on “Snow Day

Leave a Reply

