Christmas Presents

I love giving homemade presents for Christmas.  This year in addition to the jam I made this summer, I am also making breads, cookies, soup, hard cider and for one very special friend, meatloaf.

Yes, meatloaf!  I asked my friend what she would prefer this year, a sugar-free cheesecake or meatloaf.  Took her a day to decide but she came back with a resounding MEATLOAF!  I decided to make it in mini loaf pans so she can freeze them and take out as many as she needs at a time.

Mini Meatloaf

Mine is a simple recipe, sautéed veggies added to meatloaf mix and then topped with bacon, because really, everything is better with bacon.

Meatloaf

2 lbs Ground Meatloaf Mix

4 Slices White Bread, Torn

1/2 Cup Milk

1 Zucchini, Shredded

2 Carrots, Shredded

1 Onion, Diced

2 Cloves Garlic, Minced

2-3 Dashes of Worcestershire Sauce

Salt and Pepper to Taste

6 Slices of Bacon

I start by sauteing the vegetables in a bit of olive oil, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper. I don’t cook them completely, I just want them soft so they finish cooking in the oven.

Let the vegetables cool.  While they are cooling, combine the bread and milk in a shallow dish, allow the bread to completely soak up the milk.

Combine the meatloaf mix, vegetables, and bread in a bowl, using your hands to completely combine.

Pat into loaf pans (2 standard or 6 mini), top with bacon slices.  Cook at 350 degrees for approximately 1 1/4 hours, until a thermometer registers 165 degrees. Pour off any fat, allow to completely cool.  Wrap in foil and freeze.

Meatloaf Ready for Freezer

All wrapped up and ready for the freezer. 

This recipe is a combination of how my Grandma Cz made it (the bread/milk and topping it with bacon) and how my former executive chef made his (lots and lots of veggies).  I don’t top mine with tomato sauce because I usually grill the meatloaf and serve it with BBQ sauce, but you can certainly add your favorite tomato based sauce to this before baking.

Do you make anything special to giveaway at the holidays?

 

Leave a Reply

