Caramel Sauce

Back when I was a line cook in a restaurant, we used to take unopened cans of sweetened condensed milk, remove the labels and glue, wash them and add them to the pots of water we had simmering on the stove top.  Three hours later we would fish out the cans, let them cool, and when we opened them, the low moist heat had turned them into a luscious caramel sauce.  Dulce de Leche as it is known is addicting!

I just came across a recipe for a Vanilla Caramel Liqueur that starts with you simmering cans of sweetened condensed milk.  I think this is going to be my holiday liqueur recipe for next year.  I can already think of several uses – topping for pound cake, adding it to coffee on a cold, snowy morning, ice cream…..

Wish me luck and if any of you make it before I get around to it next year, let me know how it turns out!!

Leave a Reply

