Christmas with the Inlaws

Saturday afternoon we had the husbands family over to celebrate Christmas.  I thought it would be fun to do an italian themed dinner.  Here is what was on the menu….

Appetizers – Antipasta Platter, Chips with Dip, Deviled Eggs

Starter – White Bean and Pasta Soup

Dinner – Caesar Salad, Lasagna, Pasta with Marinara and Sausage, Homemade Crusty Rolls, Homemade Foccacia Bread

Dessert – Tiramisu, Chocolate Crinkle Cookies, Chocolate Chip Cookies, Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies, Peppermint Truffles, Honey Tangerine Caramels, Carmelitas, and Burnt Sugar Almonds

Thursday I prepped by making the sauce for the lasagna and pasta, I cooked the white beans for the soup, I made the dip for the chips, I made the truffles, caramels and almonds.  I also made the tiramisu.  Since we were having friends for dinner Friday night I also prepped that meal – I grated the cheese, peeled and sliced the potatoes, peeled and sliced the carrots and then I cleaned my entire kitchen before making dinner for us that night.

Friday I went to the butcher for meat and the dairy for milk, came home and fried the meat, added it to half of the sauce, made the carmelitas and the soup, then made dinner for my friends.

Christmas 2013 009

Saturday I made all of the cookies, heated the soup, made two different kinds of bread, assembled the lasagna, cooked the pasta and cleaned the entire house.

Christmas 2013 032

Christmas 2013 037

I guess what I am trying to tell you is that you can do it all, you just need to be organized and have a plan. Breaking any big meal down into components that can be made at different times, freeing you up to enjoy your company and not spend the entire day in the kitchen is the way to go! Oh, and you need to find a good hiding spot for your desserts if you expect them to last until after the meal is over.

What did you make for Christmas Dinner?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

