Snow Day Food

Friday morning I was lucky enough to receive a text telling me that school was closed due to SNOW!  I promptly fell back to sleep for another hour then got up and started the work that I had brought home with me.  Even though I didn’t go into work, didn’t mean the work stops, sigh…..

Anyhoo….the husband went out in the minus 2 degree wind chill weather to snow blow and I figured he could use a hearty and warm meal when he was done.  I put on a pot of coffee and made steel-cut oatmeal.  Real stick to your ribs food.

blog post 1.3.2014 014

I stirred in a little brown sugar and topped it with a sliced banana and chopped walnuts.  Perfect cold weather breakfast.

I was able to get all of my work done by 3pm so I made a batch of pizza dough and some homemade soup.

The soup was truly a clean out the fridge and pantry affair.  I had potatoes, leeks and carrots from my CSA, milk leftover from when the nieces and nephews came over, a single ham slice leftover from another recipe, half a cup of white wine and two containers of stock in the freezer.

Here is how I put it all together…..

Cream of Potato Soup with Ham

4 Leeks, Sliced

8 Carrots, Sliced

1 Onion, Diced

4 Stalks Celery, Diced

3 Cloves Garlic, Minced

8 Cups Chicken Stock

Salt and Pepper

2 Bay Leaves

1/2 Cup White Wine

8 Potatoes, Diced

1 Cup Milk

1 Ham Slice, Diced

I sautéed the leeks, carrots, celery and onions, seasoned with salt and pepper until softened, about 8 minutes.  I added the garlic and cooked it for another minute.  I added the wine and let it reduce by half, then added the stock, bay leaves and potatoes.  I brought it to a boil, reduced it to a simmer and cooked it until the vegetables were soft, about 45 minutes.   I added the milk and ham, let it heat through and serve.

blog post 1.3.2014 017

The pizza I simply rolled the dough to fit in a 15 x 10 pan, docked the dough and par baked it at 400 degrees for 10 minutes, until lightly golden.  I topped it with sauce, seasonings, and mozzarella cheese, lowered the temperature to 350 degrees and cooked it until the cheese was melted, about 10 more minutes.

blog post 1.3.2014 021

It was a wonderful meal for a windy and down right frigid night! My father remarked that it was a carb filled dinner, and yes, you are right, carbs with some more carbs, finished off with some carbs.   I need all of those carbs to keep me warm in these ridiculously cold winter days!

Happy Winter Eating!

 

Leave a Reply

