Steel Cut Oats with Apples and Pears

This morning I decided to make a really big batch of steel-cut oats.  The hubby has oatmeal every morning and he will be home all week so I figured I would make the “good stuff” instead of the old-fashioned oats he normally eats.  Steel cut oats are so good for you, they are a whole grain and will keep your blood sugar in line all morning long.  Plus, they are so filling!

Steel Cut Oats

Plain old oatmeal is fine but I wanted to make it a bit more fun so I peeled, diced, and sautéed two granny smith apples and one pear in a bit of butter.  I added two tablespoons of brown sugar and one teaspoon of cinnamon.  I let them cook until they were soft.

Sauteed Apples and Pears

I combined the apple/pear mixture with the steel oats when they were done.  We had it this morning for breakfast, topped with chopped pecans for crunch and I put the rest in containers for breakfast this week.  It makes for a quick, healthy, hearty, hot breakfast on cold winter mornings.  This is really important to me since they opened a Dunkin Donuts on the first floor of my building at work, I really need to make sure I take my breakfast and lunch each day, it would be way to easy to just stop down there and grab a bagel with cream cheese!

What did you have for breakfast today?

One thought on “Steel Cut Oats with Apples and Pears

  1. Pingback: Personal research report — the easy way to cook steel cut oats. | The Not Big Anymore, Formerly Fat Guy

Leave a Reply

