Sunday Dinner

A few weeks ago, whole pork loins were on sale at the grocery for far less than it would have cost to buy a package of pork chops so I took advantage of the sale and cut the loin into one roast and fifteen pork chops.  I cooked the roast right away and froze the chops in packets of three.

I pulled out a package from the freezer Saturday afternoon and thawed them for our dinner Sunday night.

Pork Chops

I roasted the chops in the oven on a bed of onions, seasoned with Penzey’s Pork Chop Seasoning.  I know I have talked about it before but goodness do I like that spice blend!

Since I had the oven on, I figured I would also use up the glutton of root vegetables hanging around in my fridge and pantry.

Roasted Root Vegetables

I had carrots, rutabegas, butternut squash, and turnips to use.  I didn’t add any onions because I was roasting the pork chops with those.  I could have added potatoes but I really didn’t see the need, we had just what we needed on this tray.

To round out the meal I picked up some fresh broccoli from the grocery store.

Broccoli

My plan was to also make biscuits but both the hubby and I had a late lunch and it seemed like overkill.  Better to save those for a night when we will truly enjoy them.

Simple, easy dinner, season the meat and veggies and put them in the oven.  Once they were done I steamed the broccoli and ta-da! dinner was done.

What did you have for dinner Sunday night?

Leave a Reply

