When Babies Come to Town

Friday night my niece and her family came down for the weekend.  We had such a great time.  She just gave birth to a beautiful baby boy two months ago.  I don’t know about you but I am a complete baby hog.  I barely took pictures of the food I made this weekend and I cooked really simple dishes so I could spend more time holding the baby.

Baby

Isn’t he so stinkin’ CUTE!  Rest assured, I didn’t neglect the rest of her family.   Friday I came home from work and made a batch of corn chowder and bought some cold cuts and rolls.  They weren’t scheduled to arrive until around 8pm and I wanted to have something in the house for them to eat in case they were hungry.  I also made a batch of peanut butter cup bar cookies.  You use ten, yes, ten, peanut butter cups in the recipe.  Next time I make it I will photograph it and share the recipe, I promise!

Random thought – do you call them cold cuts or lunch meat? We always called them cold cuts when I lived in New York as a child but now that I live in Pennsylvania, most people call it lunch meat.  Weird….moving on….

Saturday morning I made scrambled eggs with bacon, sausage and toast.  Her son helped me crack and whisk the eggs while I cooked the sausage, bacon and toast.

Her older children requested lasagna for dinner, with lots of extra cheese, so that what we had for dinner on Saturday night.   Her daughter put together the salad for me and her son made the garlic bread.  It was so cool, I had minions in my kitchen!!! Whooooo hoooooo!

Sunday we had French Toast with more bacon and sausage.  My niece’s son asked for a side of scrambled eggs and since he did such a great job the day before I made him make his own eggs!

We had a big hot lunch before they left on Sunday.  Pork roast wrapped in bacon, mashed potatoes with gravy, peas and homemade dinner rolls.

Rolls

I also made a batch of cookies since we plowed through the peanut butter bars.  My great niece likes craisins so I made the  Old Fashioned Raisin Sugar Cookie Recipe from my King Arthur Flour Cookie Companion Book but substituted craisins for the raisins.

They were really awesome.  The tartness of the craisins was a perfect foil for the sugary cookie.

Cookies!

We had a great time and I can’t wait to see them again.  I can’t believe how fast those kids are growing up!

Did any of you have company this weekend?

 

Leave a Reply

