Chicken and Root Veggies

I had originally pulled pork chops out of the freezer for dinner Thursday night but they were still a bit too frozen so I picked up two really HUGE chicken breasts on the bone from the store.

I lightly breaded them and baked them in the oven.  I figured while the oven was on, I would roast some of the root vegetables that I picked up on Wednesday afternoon.

Roasted Root Veg

I kept it simple, I cut the veggies all approximately the same size, tossed them with olive oil and seasoned them with salt and pepper.  I used turnips, rutabegas, carrots, onions, and parsnips.  I love roasting vegetables, it brings out such a sweetness from them as they caramelize.  Plus it is super simple to do!

I paired them with some green beans for color for a wonderful mid winter meal. The house smelled amazing while both were cooking, plus it warmed up the kitchen rather nicely on a bitterly cold winters night.

I have been looking at recipes on the internet for roasted root vegetable soup and I might have to try that one night next week with the rest of the root veggies.  I will let you know how that turns out!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chicken and Root Veggies

Leave a Reply

