Italian Beef Sandwiches

Yesterday we had a full day of basketball at the University.  The day started with a Men’s Alumni Basketball Game, followed by lunch, the Women’s Basketball Game at 1pm, our Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at 2:30pm, followed by a reception and the Men’s Basketball Game at 3pm.  Whew, busy day, but a good one!

The alumni had a great time playing against each other and interacting with out current Men’s team.  I had more than one player ask me for Advil when they got off the court, hopefully they are all feeling better this morning.

Both our teams lost their games yesterday, but they fought hard all day.  It was so heartbreaking!  The Men’s game went into overtime. I would like to congratulate the Caldwell Men’s Basketball Coach on his 500th career win yesterday, I just hate that it was against us!

Our Hall of Fame Inductees were so gracious and lovely yesterday, we had a fantastic time and I think all of them were honored to be inducted.

They predicted snow again yesterday, only 1-3 inches, but with our track record I wasn’t taking any chances.   I decided to put dinner in the crock pot in case my commute home was another three-hour one.

I wasn’t in the mood for stew or regular pot roast, we had just had both chicken and pork so I wanted something with beef in it.  I had been seeing recipes on the internet for Italian Roast Beef Sandwiches so I decided to tray that.  It looked fairly easy to put together and I had most of the ingredients on hand already, just had to pick up a beef roast, which just so happened to be on sale, whoo hoo!

It really was easy to make and tasted so good.  I think if I make them again, I will use more spices but for a first attempt it was pretty darn good.  I would also caramelize some onions and peppers to go on top of the sandwich.  I served this with thick cut oven french fries.

Crock Pot Roast

Italian Roast Beef Sandwiches

1 Onion, Sliced

3 Garlic Cloves, Roughly Chopped

6 Pepperoncini in Vinegar, Sliced

1 T Pepperoncini Liquid

3-4 lb Chuck Roast

2 Packets of Zesty Italian Dressing Mix

1 1/2 tsp Oregano

3 Cups Beef Broth

1 Bay Leaf

Pepper to Taste

Place onions, garlic and pepperoncini in the bottom of your slow cooker.  Top with the roast, season with pepper, add bay leaf.  Add the seasoning mix and oregano to the beef broth in a small sauce pan and bring it to a boil.  Once it comes to a boil, pour it over the meat, cover with the lid and cook on low for 10 hours.

After 10 hours,  remove the bay leaf and the stems of the peppers, if you have any in the pot.  Shred the beef with two forks, cover with the lid and cook on low for an additional hour.

Shredded Beef

To serve, toast a roll, add provolone cheese then top with the beef mixture.  Enjoy!

Italian Beef Sandwiches

 

Leave a Reply

