Mom’s Wacky Cake

Sunday afternoon I was craving something chocolate.   I decided I wanted chocolate cake but I didn’t feel like making a layer cake and I certainly didn’t want a large chocolate cake sitting in my fridge all week calling my name.  I worked too hard over the holidays to not gain weight and I wasn’t going to blow it by being tempted by my very favorite dessert!

I pulled out my mother’s recipe for Wacky Cake.  It is a recipe she learned in her Home Ec Class back in the day.  The recipe calls for using an 8″ round pan but I usually make it in a 9 x 9 pan.  It doesn’t call for eggs so it is a great dessert to make for anyone with an egg allergy.

Wacky Cake

1 1/2 Cup Flour

1 Cup Sugar

1 tsp. Baking Soda

1/4 Cup Cocoa Powder

1 tsp. Vanilla

1 tsp. White Vinegar

6 T Butter, Melted

1 Cup Water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Us an ungreased 8″ cake pan.  In the pan, sift and mix together flour, sugar, soda, and cocoa.  Make 3 wells in the flour mixture.  Put the vanilla in one, the vinegar in the second, and the butter in the third.  Pour water over all and mix with a fork until ingredients are entirely moist.  Bake 30 minutes or until done.

Wacky Cake

One of the nicest things about this recipe is that you only use one pan, easy clean up!  I am not a fan of icing so I topped our cake with a chocolate ganache.  Chocolate ganache is equal parts heavy cream and chocolate. For this cake I heated up one cup of heavy cream in a sauce pan, when you start seeing bubbles on the side of the cream, take it off the heat and add one cup of chocolate, cut into small pieces.  Let it sit off the heat, undisturbed for 5 minutes then stir to combine.  Let the ganache cool until to room temperature then pour it over the cake.

I had a piece and the hubby had TWO pieces! Nice ending to a really wonderful meal.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Mom’s Wacky Cake

  1. I didn’t even know you had this recipe. I do remember that Home Ec class way back when. Brings back memories! Enjoy your cake.

  2. Hi,

    Your blog has caught our attention thanks to the quality of your recipes. We would be delighted if you would join us on Mytaste.com so that we could link to your blog.

    Mytaste.com is a search engine that compiles the best American cooking sites and blogs from the Internet. We are one of the largest in the world with sites in 37 markets and thousands of blogs are already enrolled here and benefit from the traffic we are sending to their sites.

    To join Mytaste.com, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Sincerely,
    Mytaste.com

  3. Pingback: Sugar and Spice | Pickled Sweet

  4. Pingback: Sunday Funday | Pickled Sweet

  5. Pingback: Winter Baking | Pickled Sweet

Leave a Reply

