Tri Tip Roast

Dad bought a tri tip roast for dinner one night last week.  It is not a cut I am familiar with, it is usually only sold in the western half of the US.   I googled a bunch of recipes and it looked simple enough so I threw caution to the wind and roasted it for dinner.

Aunt Georgie 053

I laid the roast on a bed of onions and surrounded it with sliced potatoes and carrots.  I kept the seasoning simple, just salt and pepper.

We cooked it at 375 degrees for 45 minutes, until it reached an internal temperature of 135 degrees.  Due to the shape of the roast, some parts cook quicker than others making it perfect for company, you got to choose how “done” you wanted your meat.  Mom, Uncle Ed, and I prefer medium, Dad likes medium rare and we all got what we wanted.

I served the roast with the potatoes, onions and carrots.  I roasted asparagus and we had a nice loaf of beer bread to round out the meal.  I served the meat with a side of horseradish cream sauce, which made a perfect sandwich spread the next day!

My family is definitely a beef family, I know my Mom and I could eat it several times a week!  Tri tip roasts are so easy, the meat is tender and flavorful.  If you can find it, you should pick one up and roast it for Sunday dinner.

Leave a Reply

