Tuna Salad

I made tuna salad on Sunday afternoon for my lunch on Monday.  I like a ratio of 2:1 veggies to tuna.  I really like the crunch fresh, raw veggies give my tuna salad.

February Snow 043

I diced up half an onion, two stalks of celery and one carrot.  I topped it with one can of drained tuna and one and a half tablespoons of mayo.  I keep salt and pepper at my desk because I don’t like to salt my vegetables until I eat them so they stay nice and crisp.  Salt has a tendency to draw water from your veggies making your tuna salad taste really bland.

If I am in the mood I will sometimes add pickle relish to my tuna salad but I was looking for the clean, fresh, taste of veggies and the pure protein of tuna to start my Monday off right.

Another fun way to prepare tuna is to get tuna packed in oil, preferably italian tuna.  Drain the oil off the tuna, toss into a bowl with finely diced roasted red pepper, a dash of red wine vinegar, a little diced onion, and small cubes of provolone cheese.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Makes a great italian tuna sandwich and it fantastic as an italian tuna melt!

How do you prepare your tuna salad? Are you a traditional mayo, onion, celery person or do you spice it up?

Leave a Reply

