Cold, snow, freezing rain….

We started the week with another round of cold, snow, freezing rain in our area.  I am just so sick and tired of winter!  Monday we had another snow day, this one we don’t have to make up because it happened during Spring Break for our students, whoo hooo!

I wanted something warm, comforting and rich for lunch so I made a cream of chicken soup with wild rice.  It turned out perfectly!  Since I worked the weekend and hadn’t had much time for shopping, let alone cooking, I cheated and bought a rotisserie chicken from the store.  It really was easy to make and only took me 1 1/2 hours from start to finish.

Cream of Chicken Soup with Wild Rice

2 Onions, Diced

3 Carrots, Diced

2 Stalks Celery, Diced

2 Sprigs Fresh Thyme

Salt and Pepper to Taste

1 Bay Leaf

1 Pkg Wild Rice, Cooked According to Package Directions

1 Small Rotisserie Chicken, Meat Pulled and Shredded

6 Cups Chicken Stock

1 1/2 Cups Heavy Cream

Saute onions, carrots and celery in olive oil.  Season with salt and pepper.  Add thyme, bay leaf and chicken stock.  Bring to a boil, turn down to a simmer and cook until vegetables are tender.

Remove thyme stems and bay leaf.  Add rice, chicken and cream. Heat through and serve.

cream of chicken with wild rice

I am not a fan of overly heavy, creamy soups.  I much prefer to have my soup made with stock and add a little heavy cream at the end for that luscious, rich taste and texture.  It made the perfect lunch on a bitterly cold winter day.

2 thoughts on “Cold, snow, freezing rain….

  1. Well, I guess I should not tell you that we didn’t have a winter with temps in the 80’s and even 90! I cook for a group of people about every other month. They have requested homemade soups and homemade bread. Been waiting for a cool day to do so but guess we’ll eat soup when it’s in the 80’s! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

