Pound Cake

A friend of mine has been going through a tough time.  She lost her sister to cancer not too long ago and hasn’t been eating or sleeping well since.   I worked with her this weekend and she turned to me, out of the blue, and asked me to make her pound cake.  She loves pound cake, so did her sister, and I alway make it for her on her birthday and at Christmas.

I was so happy to be able to do something for her, to feed not only her body but hopefully her soul.  So Saturday night, after a long, brutal day of work, I came home and pulled out the ingredients to make cake.  I was tired, my feet hurt and I knew I needed to get some rest because I had to be in very early Sunday morning.   I put all of that aside, I mixed the cake, slide it into the oven and waited for it to be done.

After it cooled, I wrapped the loaves up for her and brought them into work on Sunday.   She was so happy, she was leaving that afternoon to go see her son in North Jersey and she was going to save them until she got to his house.

She texted me when she arrived at her son’s and told me that they ate the cake before they even had dinner that night.  I know it made her happy, I know it made her son happy to see his Mom eating so for me it was a double win.

Buttermilk Pound cake

It is amazing how something as simple as a homemade pound cake can make so many people feel good.  I was happy to make it for her, she was happy to eat it, and her son was happy to watch her take joy in something again.

Grief is lonely, it is something you have to do alone, you have to do it your way and in your own time.  I know her life is forever changed with the loss of her sister, but thank goodness she had her sister for as long as she did.  I hope in some small way I was able to help her cope, find a small measure of happiness, ease her burden, and inspire her to remember her sister with a smile instead of tears.

Leave a Reply

