Chicken and Mushroom Crepes

The other night the question looming was what to do with the leftover roasted chicken breasts and a carton of mushrooms.  I didn’t feel like making a trip to the store so it had to be something I could make with the ingredients in my pantry and fridge.

I settled on Chicken and Mushroom Crepes with a Mornay Sauce made from Gruyère cheese.

I made the crepe batter earlier in the day and parked it in the fridge until I was ready for it.

crepe batter

I used the basic crepe recipe from Leite’s Culinaria and they turned out beautifully.  I didn’t even have to throw away the first crepe, whoo hoo.

Next I sliced the mushrooms, grated the cheese, diced a red onion, minced two garlic cloves, and shredded the left over chicken.

I sautéed the mushrooms until they were nicely brown and added the onion.  Once the onion was soft, I added the garlic and let it cook for another minute.  I deglazed the pan with Marsala wine and once that cooked out, I turned off the pan to let them cool.

I cooked the crepes and started the Mornay sauce using Gruyère cheese.   Once all of this was done, I combined the chicken and mushrooms with a ladle of sauce and tucked that into six crepes.  I topped the crepes with more Mornay sauce and Gruyère cheese and baked them until heated through, approximately 20 minutes.

Making Crepes

Dinner was a hit, I was able to use up leftovers to create an entirely new meal AND I didn’t have to make a trip to the store – triple win!

Chicken and Mushroom Crepes

For those of you who know me, you know I HATE leftovers but I can eat them again if I can turn it into a completely different meal.   Plus, it had Gruyère cheese – everything is better with Gruyère…..

 

 

Leave a Reply

