Irish Boxty

I was first introduced to the Irish Boxty when we went out for dinner at Molly Maguires Restaurant.   Boxty’s are a potato pancake that is usually then filled with something savory.  The one I had was filled with an Irish Lamb Stew and it was delicious.

I decided to try my hand at making them as a side dish to our lamb on Sunday evening.  I googled a bunch of recipes and winged it.  Basically, they are potato pancakes made with half mashed potatoes and half raw grated potatoes with some flour and milk added to make the consistency of pancakes.

You fry them up and serve them straight from the pan.  Here is what I did…

Irish Boxty Recipe

2 Russet Potatoes, Peeled and Diced

2 Russet Potatoes, Peeled and Shredded

1 Cup Flour

1 Pinch of Baking Soda

1 Cup Buttermilk

Salt and Pepper to Taste

1 Onion, Grated

2 T Parsley, Minced

Cook the diced potatoes in water until soft.  Drain and mash, adding as little of the buttermilk, until they are smooth.  Add in the shredded potatoes, flour, baking soda, the rest of the buttermilk, the salt, pepper, onion and parsley.

Heat a couple of tablespoons of butter, or better yet, bacon fat over medium high heat.  Drop spoonfuls of batter into the oil and cook until golden brown.  Flipping once, about 2 minutes per side.  Season lightly with salt and serve.

Irish Boxty

My Irish mother in law used to make potato pancakes from leftover mashed potatoes and my mother makes potato pancakes from raw grated potatoes.  This is a nice mixture of the two recipes.  You get the texture of the raw potato with the creamy goodness of the mashed.  It makes a nice side dish and is a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes, if you have them.

If you choose to fill them, you simply add your filling to the center and roll them up.

I had some left over on Monday morning so I fried two eggs and had a fantastic breakfast!

irish breakfast

It was a great way to start a cold, snowy morning.  I guess Old Man Winter is just not through with us yet.  I did take a cute picture of the crocus popping their heads out of the snow.

winter is almost over!

I am well and truly done with winter and even yelled at the snow to go away, but seeing the spring flowers poking their way out of the ground gives me hope that soon this will all be over for another year.

2 thoughts on “Irish Boxty

Leave a Reply

