Tomato Basil Soup

Old Man Winter just won’t let go here in the Northeast.   Now I know we didn’t get a lot of snow, and yes, I am really, really grateful for that, but seriously…..I need SPRING weather, pretty please….with sugar on top….

blog post 3.26.14 026

I think it truly is the cold, bitter wind that is making me crazy today.  I decided to make the best of the weather by making homemade soup for dinner.

Since this would be a weeknight meal, it needed to be something that I could make after a long day of work and still have dinner on the table in a reasonable time.

Tomato Basil soup was just the ticket!  I keep it really simple. Please note, if the soup is too thick for you, you can add a splash of chicken or vegetable stock to thin it.

Tomato Basil Soup

2 Onions, Roughly Chopped

4 Cloves of Garlic, Roughly Chopped

3 28oz Cans of Whole, Peeled Tomatoes

1/2 Stick of Butter

1 Bay Leaf

Salt and Pepper to Taste

1 Small Bunch of Fresh Basil

Saute onion in olive oil until it softens, about 15 minutes.  Add garlic and butter, cook for an additional minute.  Add cans of tomatoes, bay leaf, salt, and pepper.  Bring to a boil, turn down to a simmer and cook for 30 minutes. While it is cooking, lightly crush the tomatoes against the side of the pan, be careful, this is hot liquid and the tomatoes can splash and burn your hand.

Remove bay leaf, add basil.  Using a hand-held submersion blender, blend soup until smooth.

tomato basil soup

I added grilled cheese sandwiches and called it dinner!

Grilled Ham and Cheese with Tomato Soup

The hubby likes grilled ham and cheese and his tomato soup straight up. I was in the mood for just an old-fashioned grilled cheese sammie but I added some cream to my soup. When I was a kid my Mom used to make us creamy tomato soup and that is how I prefer mine.

blog post 3.26.14 019

It was a simple, hearty, and heartwarming dinner.  We lite the fireplace and watched the snow fall.  Hopefully, this was a nice way to say goodbye to winter….that is if it doesn’t snow any more this spring!

4 thoughts on “Tomato Basil Soup

Leave a Reply

