Chocolate, Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

I am not a huge fan of dessert but if I am going to eat it, it HAS to have chocolate in it.   I had purchased a bunch of banana’s last weekend and we weren’t able to eat all of them before they started to turn brown so I decided to make a loaf of banana bread.   I like banana bread but what I really wanted was chocolate.  Now, as a good Pennsylvania Dutch girl, I can’t stand for anything to go to waste so I set out to find a way to combine the two flavors into one dessert.

Originally I was considering a banana cake with chocolate frosting but I am not a huge fan of icing so while it sounded good, it truly wasn’t what I wanted.  While looking for inspiration,  I came across a recipe for a Chocolate Chip-Banana Tea Cake on page 153 of  the Chocolate Chocolate Cookbook by Lisa Yockleson.  Every single recipe I have tried in this book has been amazing.  The Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Bars on page 146 are to die for…..you make it in a 9 x 9 pan, and it uses 6 packages of peanut butter cups in the recipe!  It is so decadent, you can’t eat a very big slice at one sitting, it is just too rich.

Anyway, back to the cake recipe.   The cake recipe is your typical banana bread recipe with the addition of cocoa powder and chocolate chips.  Now, as most of you know banana and chocolate pair very well together but adding the chocolate chips into it you send it to a whole other level.

Blog Post 4.26.14 018 Chocolate Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

We really enjoyed it.  The cake was soft and moist with a perfect balance of banana and chocolate.  We had it for dessert last night but it was equally good this morning with a cup of tea.  I highly recommend this book and this recipe to anyone who is a fan of chocolate.

Leave a Reply

