Fried Chicken and Mashed Potatoes

Last Saturday for Derby Day I decided to make Fried Chicken for dinner in a nod to my non-existent southern heritage!  Basically I wanted crunchy chicken for dinner after watching show after show on the food network about the Derby and southern recipes in general.

I cheated just a little and bought chicken cutlets at the store, then brought them home and breaded them myself.   Just as a side note, I love thin cuts of meat for quick meals, they cook in about 6 minutes! I use Panko bread crumbs when breading any type of cutlet, I find you get a better crunch, which is truly what I crave in a meal like this.

Anyway, to go along with my fried chicken, I made us some creamy mashed potatoes and served them with gravy and green peas.  I set up a breading station, breaded the chicken and then put it in the fridge to rest while I peeled and diced the potatoes.  Once I got the potatoes cooking, I took the chicken out of the refrigerator and heated up some oil in the pan.  I turned the oven to 250 degrees and put a cooling rack inside a cookie sheet and placed it in the oven. After pan frying the chicken, I would place the pieces onto the cooling rack in the oven to keep warm.

Once the chicken was done.  I cooked the peas, drained and mashed the potatoes and we ate!

Chicken Cutlet

Leave a Reply

