Summer Solstice

It is here, finally, summer has arrived and I am so very, very happy!  Today is the longest day of the year, we have more sunshine than darkness and I am giddy with excitement.

My plan for the day is to spend as much time outside as possible, enjoying all the gifts that summer has to offer.   Just the thought of that much sun in one day brightens my mood.  I am truly a sun lover, my mood is better, my outlook on life is better, I feel better about myself and the world in general when I have the opportunity to leave in the morning to the sun rising and have a few hours after work to enjoy the day before the sun sets.

Winter for me is a time to slow down, recoup, rest, and plan.  Summer is a season of doing – yard work, canning, planting, harvesting.  The earth’s bounty is extraordinary.  I love to eat the first ripe tomato from the garden, preferably in a tomato sandwich, toasted bread, thinly spread with mayo, the tomatoes lightly dusted with salt and pepper. Mmmmmmm, is there anything better in this world?

Spring is a time of renewal, the most beautiful green color that nature has to offer, spring flowers, lovely soft rain showers, and warmer temperatures.   Summer is all about heat, sun, fresh vegetables, the smell of basil picked minutes before eating, corn on the cob, backyard bbq’s, fireworks, time at the beach, brilliantly blue skies, thunderstorms, and kicking back with a cocktail while enjoying a lazy afternoon.

Cheers to summer, my favorite time of year!

Thunderstorm rolling in

Thunderstorm rolling in

Sunset on the beach

Sunset on the beach

True happiness about my favorite day of the year, now go forth and enjoy the sunshine!

 

 

Leave a Reply

