Blueberry Snack Cake

I love church cookbooks, I have a whole collection of them on my shelves.   These are recipes that woman use to feed their families, they aren’t usually fancy but they are always good.   One of my go to books for the last 20 years has been Treasured Family Recipes by the Blooming Glen Mennonite Church.   Every single recipe I have made has been good.  Maybe because most of the them are good old-fashioned Pennsylvania Dutch cooking, which is what I grew up eating, who knows for sure, but what I do know is that when I am craving comfort, it is the book I turn to first.

I had a pint of blueberries in the fridge that needed to be eaten.  We have been on a major fruit kick in our house, which is unusual for us, and for whatever reason the blueberries didn’t get eaten.

I wanted something sweet after dinner, but not too sweet.   I remembered that I had made a blueberry snack cake years ago and we loved it.   A simple cake recipe, flavored with cinnamon and lemon, no icing needed.

You basically add all of the ingredients to the bowl, except the blueberries, and beat them with a mixture.  You toss the berries with a little flour and sugar, fold them into the mix and bake.   It couldn’t be simpler!  It makes a small cake, it fits beautifully in a 8×8 pan and it is fantastic for breakfast!

blueberry snack cake

I love the flavor combination of lemon and blueberries together, the sweetness of the berries plays so well against the tartness of the berries, yum!

Leave a Reply

