Compound Butter

I am a big fan of compound butters,  they are the perfect thing to keep in the fridge or freezer to add a last-minute burst of freshness and flavor.   I have plans to make some hasselback potatoes for dinner tonight, so I made the butter yesterday and I have it hanging out in the fridge until I am ready for it.

The recipe couldn’t be simpler, you are just infusing butter with flavor.   I think summer is the best time to make compound butters, what with all of the beautiful, fragrant herbs available in my garden, you simply must use them to their full advantage!

For this butter, I didn’t have many herbs yet, my plants are rather small, so to round out the flavor, I added some grated garlic and parmesan cheese.

making herb butter

For this particular butter, I started with two sticks of softened butter, cut into pats.  Add them to a bowl and add the rest of your ingredients, in this case, it was three cloves of garlic, grated, two ounces of parmesan cheese, grated, and two tablespoons of minced herbs.   I used a combination of parsley, basil, oregano, thyme and a little rosemary for this batch.  I didn’t add any salt because the butter was a salted sweet butter and the parmesan cheese has a good deal of salt, but I did add a healthy grind of black pepper.

Once you have everything in the bowl, you can either mix it with your hands or a hand mixer.  You are just looking to combine the ingredients.   After combining, form it into a log and wrap it in plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator until you are ready to use it.

As I said, I am making hasselback potatoes later today and that is what I will be using mine for, but compound butters are a great addition to steamed vegetables, pan sauces, summer pasta dishes, and I love a thick pat of compound butter on top of a beautifully grilled steak.

herb butter log

Once the butter is cold, slice it into rounds, and add them to your favorite recipe.

compound butter

Compound butters also freeze well, you can either put the log into a ziplock bag and toss it in your freezer or cut pats of butter and freeze them individually, so you can just pull what you need at any given time.   Yum, flavored butter!

3 thoughts on “Compound Butter

  1. Pingback: Hasselback Potatoes | Pickled Sweet

Leave a Reply

